Course Cost:

Non Members: £610 (excluding VAT)

Members: £465 (excluding VAT)

Course Length: 3 days

Venue address:
PBM Inspection Services, Heath House Training and Conference Centre, Cheadle Road, Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, ST14 7BY

Course Date
 

01 January 2020

Course Time
 

09:30 to 15:30

ENDS 29.02.2016 save book now
14.03.2016 Location: Staffordshire

JUST ADDED-Inspection skills training for headteachers and senior leaders: Ensuring Outstanding Monitoring, Evaluation and Improvement

Day 1: 14 March 2016 | Day 2: 15 March 2016 | Day 3: 16 March 2016

was £610.00+VAT per person

Book 1 place only £549+VAT per person

Book 2 places only £499+VAT per person

Book 3 places only £465+VAT per person

This course is unique to PBM. It is well-established, up-to-date, and has a lengthy and successful track record of helping headteachers and other senior leaders sharpen their evaluation skills and extend their capacity to monitor and improve their schools. It provides participants with a broad knowledge of the inspection process and fosters those indispensable skills for gathering pertinent data efficiently and then making unequivocal judgements. The training promotes that embedded understanding that is necessary when applying the knowledge and skills widely in a range of school contexts. By the end of the course, participants are able to analyse school data to identify strengths and weaknesses in performance, check the accuracy of assessment data and judgements about progress through rapid and rigorous work sampling, and then diagnose causal factors through effective observation of teaching. Each participant receives a workbook packed with exemplar material, templates and resources that can be immediately used on return to school.

"I attended the 3 day ‘Inspection Skills For Headteachers’ course in January 2014 as we were  due an Ofsted Inspection at any time and I wanted to ensure our school was as ready as we could be, and that I was ready, too! This course covered everything you should know as you prepare for inspection, but made the (previously) daunting prospect really straightforward and uncomplicated. What I found especially helpful was how to present what you know you are doing well in a format Ofsted can easily understand and not have to go searching for. Things like the school self-evaluation, pupil case studies and data were presented so clearly, we just couldn't go wrong! I knew we were at least a 'Good' school, and probably borderline 'Outstanding'. The course helped me to highlight our strengths and to make clear what we were doing to address any areas that weren't so strong. I am delighted to say we got 'Outstanding' in every area of the Ofsted report and it is without a doubt that this course gave me the knowledge, skills and confidence to present the school in the best way we could. Thank you."
  Course 4: 2015-2016:
  • Day 1: 14 Mar 2016 | 15 Mar 2016 | 16 Mar 2016

Course Overview

Based on the current inspection schedule, updated to include relevant national developments, the three-day course helps senior managers develop inspection and evaluation skills. It covers most aspects of school self-evaluation and gives examples of good practice. The course lasts three days and is a mix of direct tuition and skill based learning involving tasks, case study materials, and homework (optional). The practical activities are mainly completed in groups of two or three participants so that thoughts and evaluations can be shared and compared. Each day has five hours of tuition, divided into four blocks of 1.25 hours.

Course Objectives

  • Understanding the inspection schedule.
  • Using audit, evaluation, and inspection trails (learning walks) to diagnose strengths, weaknesses, and priorities for improvement.
  • Making accurate judgements from a range of evidence.
  • Sharpen data analysis and progress tracking skills (including RAISE online and other school performance data).
  • Using and improving quality assurance systems.
  • Observing lessons accurately and effectively and recording findings.
  • Work sampling efficiently and effectively.
  • Evaluating and developing self-evaluation systems.
  • Communicating self-evaluation findings, including high quality oral and written communication, and feedback to various stakeholders.
  • Identifying strengths and weaknesses and planning for improvement.

In-School Training

This course is available as in-school training. If you would like to find out more about in-school training please go to the in-school training section   CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION ABOUT IN SCHOOL TRAINING
  or call us on 01889 567 014

Aimed at

Headteachers, deputy headteachers, and senior managers in primary and secondary Schools.

Detailed course outline and session time table

Day 1 Session 1

First impressions
  • Context of the school
  • Effective communication
  • The communication genre
  • Aids and barriers
  • Behind the data
National expectations
  • The “national ruler”
  • The typical child
  • National expectations

Day 1 Session 2

Making sense of numbers
  • Evaluation
  • Making judgements
  • Good progress
  • Supporting judgements with data
  • Confidence intervals
  • From numbers to judgements
  • The numbers that matter
  • Is it school improvement?
  • Finding averages
  • Percentile ranking

Day 1 Session 3

Judgements about standards and attainment
  • Being systematic
  • Combining current with past
  • Current attainment and projections
  • Profiling current attainment
Value-added
  • Calculating value added

Day 1 Session 4

Work sampling
  • The purpose of work sampling
  • Methodology of work sampling
  • How good is the teaching
  • Next steps analysis
  • Looking for patterns

Day 2 Session 5

Tracking progress using sub-levels
  • Progress step by step
  • Harmony and relevance
  • Mapping progress
  • Making judgements about progress
  • Adding analysis fields
  • Making judgements
  • Progress mapping at KS3 and KS4
  • Progression tables KS1 to KS2
  • Using national transition matrices
  • Progression analysis

Day 2 Session 6

Tracking progress using point scores
  • Key stage progress using point scores
  • Annual progress and the learning journey
  • Tracking progress at KS3 using point scores

Day 2 Session 7

Observing lessons
  • Clarity of purpose
  • Uses of observation
  • Methodology
  • Profiling teaching using inspection criteria
  • Profiling teaching using school data
  • The quality of provision
  • Characteristics of effective learning

Day 2 Session 8

Observing lessons
  • DVD 1 (Year 5)
  • The context
  • Forming the hypothesis
  • The purpose of the lesson
  • Checking accuracy through work sampling
  • DVD 2 (Year 7)
  • Evaluating the teaching
  • Feeding back to teachers
  • The feedback

Day 3 Session 9

Evaluating personal development
  • Relevant and available data
  • Quantifying and measuring outcomes
  • Survey questions

Day 3 Session 10

Evaluating personal development
  • Gathering evidence for behaviour and safety from observation and discussion
  • Completing a summary record
  • Parents’ questionnaire

Day 3 Session 11

Making relevant links
  • Linking issues, diagnosis, and priorities for improvement

Day 3 Session 12

School improvement
  • Integrating school self-evaluation with school improvement and strategic planning
As part of our quality assurance policy, and to ensure courses are always up to date, we reserve the right to update, alter and improve courses without prior notice in order to encompass any emerging changes in legislation, framework, or government guidance.

Tutor information and course feedback

Bruce McAlpine has managed the Company for 18 years. He writes and develops training materials and tutors many of the courses. He was a full-time lead inspector for thirteen years. Before becoming an inspector, he taught in infant, primary and middle schools and was a headteacher for seventeen years. His specialist areas include English, mathematics, art, the Foundation Stage, educational management, special educational needs, and English as an additional language. We reserve the right to substitute the advertised tutor for another appropriately experienced tutor.

“The best Headteacher training event I have attended in a very long time- relevant and enjoyable”.
“Just to say that I thought the Ofsted Inspection Skills training was excellent ... I was unsure whether I could afford 3 whole days out of school but I'm glad that I did as I learnt a lot”.
“I wondered if you would be kind enough to pass on a sincere note of thanks to Bruce McAlpine. I attended his 3 day course in May of this year and worked hard to implement many of the suggestions, especially the multifilter trackers for subjects. At the end of June we were given an outstanding judgement by Ofsted! This is in no small measure due to the superb training I received on the course. As a result, I am now supporting not only my school, but also another local school in difficulty- this is because of the skills gained from the course- many thanks again,”
“Outstanding- by far the best course I have been on since started teaching- this should be included as part of NPQH! Thank you!”.
“Clarity and coverage- more useful than I’ve ever experienced in 14 years of headship. Thank you!”.
“Clear, concise, logical, reference based guidance….best course and material I have experienced, possibly ever!”
“The best training I have attended as a headteacher- Everything was useful. I am really looking forward to cascading it to my SLT. Exactly what we needed at this point in our school development. Thank you I will use you again. Please e-mail future courses.”
I attended the 3 day ‘Inspection Skills For Headteachers’ course in January 2014 as we were due an Ofsted Inspection at any time and I wanted to ensure our school was as ready as we could be, and that I was ready, too! This course covered everything you should know as you prepare for inspection, but made the (previously) daunting prospect really straightforward and uncomplicated. What I found especially helpful was how to present what you know you are doing well in a format Ofsted can easily understand and not have to go searching for. Things like the school self-evaluation, pupil case studies and data were presented so clearly, we just couldn't go wrong! I knew we were at least a 'Good' school, and probably borderline 'Outstanding'. The course helped me to highlight our strengths and to make clear what we were doing to address any areas that weren't so strong. I am delighted to say we got 'Outstanding' in every area of the Ofsted report and it is without a doubt that this course gave me the knowledge, skills and confidence to present the school in the best way we could. Thank you.
An excellent 3 days - thank you
Resources, up to date knowledge, so much to take back to school with us
Bruce's ability to turn participants input into meaningful and relevant reflections for all.
The services were excellent. Thank you for making me feel so welcome
Very easy to engage. Knowledgeable trainer - very easy to listen to and take in
Clarity of training - really focused. Networking with other professionals.
Real clarity with regards to precision, school QA, self eval and improvement planning, insightful delivery
Quality of content and delivery, also very responsive to new draft framework. Up to date - chance to discuss and network Relevance, detail, process Brilliant Clear materials backed up by clear training (or the other way round!) The best, focussed and useful training I have been on for a long time. Thank you very much The tutors clear delivery, very knowledgeable.  Answered questions thoroughly with examples knowledge of official procedures from a wide range of experiences and viewpoints teacher/head/inspector - good balance. Up to date knowledge of the tutor Knowledge of up to date info/triangulation of all info All clear and relevant. Both tutors responded well to participants questions but maintained pace and focus Relevance to current practice Wealth of knowledge of the instructor/tutor Personalisation to questions and individual needs. Data analysis / what to expect in an inspection / focused monitoring of subjects - hypothesis etc Tutors presentation style and adaptation to each member of the group. Specific examples, opportunities to practise skills and advice CLARITY and coherence Bruce's knowledge base and experience

Membership special offers

Summer Term: Advance booking: Members: 1 place £530+VAT Members: 2 places £499+VAT per person Members: 3 places £488+VAT per person (Saving you £366) Members: 4 places £450+VAT per person (Saving you £640) Members: 5 places £400+VAT per person (Saving you £1050!)

First Name

Surname

Your e-mail address

School / Establishment Name

School / Establishment Post Code

Contact Telephone Number

Number of places required

Name of participants if different from above

 I have read and understood the cancellation policy


Are you already a member?

 Please create membership for me

 I'm not ready to become a member yet


captcha